Institute Members

Kristin - Image Final
Kristin Brandon - Chair

Kristin joined NZX in 2007 and is responsible for leading the development of NZX’s market rules, and managing NZX’s regulatory relationships. Kristin has extensive experience in financial services law, having previously worked in legal roles in corporate and commercial, and financial services teams at DLA Piper and Chapman Tripp in New Zealand, and Dechert LLP in London. Kristin holds an LLB (Hons) and BCA (accounting major) from Victoria University in Wellington

Rachel - Image Final
Rachel Dunne

Rachel Dunne is a partner at Chapman Tripp, specialising in equity capital markets, corporate governance and mergers & acquisitions. She has extensive experience advising listed companies and other market participants and is a member of the New Zealand Markets Disciplinary Tribunal and the Listed Companies Association. Rachel was also a member of the Capital Markets 2029 Steering Committee tasked with developing a 10-year vision and recommendations for growing New Zealand’s capital markets.

Stuart McLauchlan headshot.jpg
Stuart Mclauchlan

Stuart is an experienced listed company director spanning 35 years in sectors including Engineering, Health, Tourism, FMCG, Retail and Property. Stuart is Chair of Scott Technology, a director of Argosy Property Trust and Ebos Healthcare Group and a number of large private companies. Stuart is a Fellow of NZICA and a Chartered Fellow of the IOD. He is a past President of the Institute of Directors and is Chair of the University of Otago Foundation Trust.

Oliver Mander - headshot1.png
Oliver Mander

Oliver has had a long corporate career with BP Group PLC as well as corporate roles in Chorus and Wellington Water. He has also written regular columns for the NZ Herald. He joined New Zealand Shareholders Assn as Chief Executive in late 2020 with the aim of delivering improvements to New Zealand’s corporate governance and disclosure standards. Oliver is proud to be joining the inaugural Corporate Governance Institute.

Ian_Matheson_200x200 copy.jpg
Ian Matheson

Sydney-based Ian Matheson is Chief Executive Officer of the Australasian Investor Relations Association, an industry association that’s purpose is to build and strengthen market confidence in listed and unlisted entities. Ian has worked in association management, funds management, investor relations and corporate governance for more than 30 years. He has been a member of the ASX Corporate Governance Council since its inception more than 20 years ago.

Sarah Miller

Sarah is a Director and Principal at Black Letter Consulting, which provided specialist governance and investor relations advisory services to NZX/ASX listed companies. She is also a member of the New Zealand Markets Disciplinary Tribunal and an Executive Member (and former Chair) of the Listed Companies Association. Her previous experience includes being General Counsel Corporate and Group Company Secretary at Telecom New Zealand and a Member of the Regulatory Taskforce of Capital Markets 2029. Sarah was also General Counsel and Company Secretary at Serko Limited

Sam Porath

Sam Porath is Chair of the New Zealand Corporate Governance Forum, an institutional investor group committed to promoting good corporate governance within New Zealand companies for the long-term health of the NZ’s capital markets. Sam is Manager, Dynamic Asset Allocation at the Accident Compensation Corporation. Previous roles include Manager, NZ Equities and Portfolio Manager, Strategic Tilting at the NZ Superannuation Fund, and as a consultant for Russell Investments to institutional investors in New Zealand and Australia.

Helen Roberts Staff
Helen Roberts

Helen Roberts is the Deputy Head of the Department of Accountancy and Finance at the University of Otago, Deputy Director of the Climate and Energy Finance Group and directs the Master of Finance and the Master of Accounting and Finance post-graduate programmes. Her research interests examine a range of governance and corporate performance areas and microfinance. Helen is a guest reviewer for a number of well-known Finance journals.

Anne Urlwin photo.jpg
Anne Urlwin

Anne Urlwin is a professional director and a member of the Council of the Institute of Directors in NZ. Her governance experience includes private companies and public sector entities as well as public listed companies. She is a director of NZX-listed Precinct Properties New Zealand Ltd, Infratil Ltd, Vector Ltd, and Ventia Services Group Ltd.

Grainne NZX CGI headshot
Gráinne Troute

Gráinne is a director of NZX-listed companies Tourism Holdings (THL), Summerset Group Holdings and Investore Property Ltd. She is also an independent board member of legal firm Duncan Cotterill and she chairs the Board of privately-owned Montana Group. She was previously Chair of Tourism Industry Aotearoa (TIA) during which time she also co-chaired the government’s Tourism Industry Transformation Plan. Gráinne also served for many years as a trustee and chair in the not-for-profit sector, including having been Chair of Ronald McDonald House Charities NZ for five years. She is a Chartered Fellow of the Institute of Directors.

Charles Bolt Headshot V2
Charles Bolt

Charles has been involved in the capital markets for over thirty years, and brings a perspective that is informed by regulatory and advisory roles, as well as senior executive and board experience in the listed company sector. He is currently Head of Governance Services with Computershare, a member of the NZX Market Disciplinary Tribunal and Chair of the Listed Companies Association.

Guy Beatson CGI headshot
Guy Beatson

Guy is the General Manager of the Governance Leadership Centre and Register at the New Zealand Institute of Directors (IoD). As Registrar he oversees IoD’s director professional standards, including supporting IoD’s Standards Committee. Prior to joining IoD, Guy had a governance focused career in the New Zealand public sector and internationally, which included commercial transactions, establishing new government companies and other entities, and advising Ministers on their performance.